Please find below the descriptions, past winners. Children's Healthcare Canada issues a call for Leadership Award nominations each spring.

Have questions about the Leadership Awards program or nomination process?

Contact us at

Patient & Family Leadership Award

The Children’s Healthcare Canada Award for Patient & Family Leadership was created to recognize outstanding leadership by a patient (current or former), parent, or caregiver who has served to improve the patient and family experience for those accessing pediatric health care in Canada.

This award will be presented to an individual who has exemplified courage, commitment, and resilience in promoting systemic change at a local, regional, and/or national levels.

 Past Award Winners

2022 - Gunjan Seth

2021 - Rachel Martens

2020 - Katie Griffin

2019 - Beth Dangerfield

2018 - Frank Gavin

Leadership in Online Media Award

The Children’s Healthcare Canada Award for Leadership in Online Media was created in light of the evolving role of various media, including, but not limited to traditional print, radio, or television outlets, to include of all types of reporting and recognize outstanding journalism, reporting, editorial, or blogging that

  • increase awareness of and promote action on Canadian child and youth health issues
  • increase awareness of and support for the role our members play in improving the health of and healthcare for children and youth across the country
  • enable and foster support for the best healthcare for Canada’s children and youth.

In addition to mainstream media stories, this award is now open to stories, posts, and campaigns run on social media platforms that have made a difference the past year, bringing reliable child health issues to attention of the public in more novel ways.

 Past Award Winners

2022 - Dr. Ripudaman Singh Minhas

2021 - Mr. Harold Gagné

2020 - Andre Picard, Globe and Mail

2019 - Danny Lemieux, RadioCanada

2018 - Su-Ling Goh, Global News

Individual Leadership Award

Through the Children’s Healthcare Canada Award for Individual Leadership, we recognize outstanding leadership by an individual who has dedicated their career to improving the health and well-being of children and youth in Canada through health promotion, policy initiatives and/or increased public awareness.

This award will be presented to an individual who has exemplified leadership, creativity, and initiative in promoting positive change and long-term improvement for the health and well-being of children and youth.

 Past Award Winners

2022 - Dr. Verónica Schiariti

2021 - Dr. Steven Miller

2020 - Brynn Boback-Lane, President and CEO of Jim Pattison Children's Hospital Foundation

2019 - Dr. Jean-Yves Frappier; Director, Department of Paediatrics, University of Montreal and the CHU Sainte-Justine

2018 - Dr. Samina Ali, Emergency Physician, Stollery Children’s Hospital

2017 - Dr. Christine Chambers; Research Chair (Tier 1) in Children’s Pain and Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Psychology & Neuroscience, Dalhousie University

2017 - Dr. Peter Rosenbaum; Professor of Paediatrics at McMaster University, Co-Founder of CanChild

2016 - Dr. Shoo Lee; Scientific Director of the CIHR Institute of Human Development, Child and Youth Health

2015 - Dr. Denis Daneman, Paediatrician-in-Chief at the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) and Chair of the Department of Paediatrics at the University of Toronto

2014 - Sheila Jarvis, President & CEO, Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital

2013 - Anne McGuire, Former President & CEO, IWK Health Centre

2012 - Tracy Wrong & Darlene Boliver

2011 - Dr. Rick Cooper

2010 - Dr. Gerarda Cronin

Organizational Leadership Award

The Children’s Healthcare Canada Award for Organizational Leadership recognizes the leadership of an organization, a foundation, or a corporation that enables the best healthcare for Canada’s children and youth. The recipient organization has demonstrated leadership to inspire change and innovation with a significant and sustained impact on child and youth healthcare system(s), and/or populations served. 
This award also recognizes the value an organization places on partnerships and collaboration within the healthcare community.
 Past Award Winners

2022 - Muslim Advisory Council of Canada 

2021 - The Safehaven Project for Community Living

2020 - Ronald McDonald House Charities Canada

2019 - CanREACH

2018 - Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital

2017 - Child Health BC

2016 - Alberta Children’s Hospital Foundation

2015 - UNICEF Canada

2014 - Accreditation Canada

2012 - Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)

2011 - Stollery Children’s Hospital

2010 - SickKids Foundation

2009 - Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI)

Family-Centered Care Award

The Children’s Healthcare Canada Award for Family-Centered Care was created to honour teams that have implemented innovations that improve the human experience of healthcare. This award will highlight and recognize innovations that include the four (4) concepts of family-centred care:

  1. Dignity and Respect: Health care practitioners listen to and honor individual and family perspectives and choices and incorporate individual and family knowledge, values, beliefs and cultural backgrounds into planning and delivery of care.
  2. Information Sharing: Health care practitioners communicate and share complete and unbiased information with individuals and families in ways that are affirming and useful. Timely, complete, and accurate information is shared with families to support effective participation in care and decision-making.
  3. Participation: Individuals and families are encouraged and supported in participating in care and decision-making at the level they choose.
  4. Collaboration: Individuals, families, health care practitioners, and health care leaders collaborate in policy and program development, implementation, and evaluation; in facility design; in professional education; and in research; as well as in the delivery of care and have made a change to how patients, residents, clients, their families, and communities experience healthcare services.

Demonstrable improvements in or impact on culture, quality, safety, and/or financial indicators will be used to determine the recipient of this award.

 Past Award Winners
 2022 - Janeway Lifestyle Program

Nomination Information

Nominators must quantify the impact of the eligible teams’ innovations and actions in the following areas:

  • Patient experience and culture of inclusion: This can include, but is not limited to, organizational structures that engage and support patients', caregivers', and families' use of electronic tools or media to support continuous engagement with patients, caregivers, and families as well as organizational processes that elevate the collaborative efforts of patients, caregivers, families, staff, and communities in the planning and delivery of care;
  • Training and development of staff, clinicians, patients, caregivers, and families to support a culture of innovation and excellence in the planning and delivery of high-quality patient- and family-centered care;
  • Quality of care over a minimum of 12 months, including tangible performance or process improvements in clinical outcomes (e.g., hospital- or facility-acquired infections, falls, length of stay (LOS), alternate levels of care (ALC)), performance outcomes (e.g., patient experience rates), and other indicators demonstrating quality improvements (e.g., enhanced foundation revenues, decreased workplace injuries); and
  • Alignment of a high-performance patient experience with all other aspects of the healthcare system (e.g., the satisfaction and engagement scores of staff, clinicians, and medical staff).